About the Knox County Safety Council

Updated on Tuesday, August 6th, 2019 @ 11:54am

Knox County Safety Council is a program of the Ohio BWC, and is facilitated by the Knox County Chamber of Commerce.

The goal of the Knox County Safety Council is to increase safety awareness and promote greater interest in the prevention of occupational accidents and disease. Safety Council holds monthly meetings and featured speakers address issues of on-the-job safety.

Become a partner and "Reach New Levels In Safety Awareness"!

  • Business Security
  • Electrical Safety
  • First-Aid in the Workplace
  • Fire Safety
  • Hearing Conservation
  • OSHA/BWC Panel Discussion
  • Plant Tours
  • Lifting & Back Safety
  • And More!

The Knox County Safety Council steering committee meets the first Tuesday of every month at 8:00 a.m. at Mid-Ohio Corporate Care. These volunteers plan and organize each monthly educational module.

This meeting is open to committee members only.

Interested in joining the committee? Contact the Chamber of Commerce at (740) 393-1111, or send an e-mail to Chamber@KnoxChamber.com.

Emily Marth, Chair, Knox County Commissioners

Brittany Murphy,Vice Chair, Knox Community Hospital

Jay Ramsey,Treasurer, SBC Recycling

Donna Baker, Secretary, Shannon Staffing

Ken Belcher, Ohio BWCGary Rohler, Ariel Corporation

Debbie Ruggles, Knox County Chamber of Commerce

Cliff Ruggles, Cliff's High Perfromance

Cyndi Wyatt, The Ohio Eastern Star Home

Gary Rohler, Ariel Corporation

Laura Smith, Ohio BWC

Each year the Safety Council holds annual awards. These awards are presented as a result of the semi-annual reports that are submitted to the Ohio BWC in January and July. The three separate awards that can be earned include: The Special Award, presented to each company that accumulates at least 500,000 hours and at least six months without a lost-time injury or illness; the Achievement Award, presented to each company that works the entire year without lost time due to injury or illness; and the Group Award, presented to the company with the lowest incident rate in each group. For this award, the groups are divided by manufacturing with less than 100 employees, manufacturing with more than 100 employees; construction, healthcare, service industries, and government.


Our Monthly Meeting

February 19, 2020

Will be at: The Glenn A. Gallagher Centre


Meet the new Safety Service Director for the City of Mount Vernon

Speaker: Rick Dzik

 7:30 am to 9:00 am

RSVP by January 10th

Breakfast will be provided.

Meeting RSVP